Who is responsible? Laws and the responsibilities of public authorities

The extraction of raw materials is regulated in Germany by the German Federal Mining Act (BBergG). In 1982, it replaced the old mining laws of the Federal States and the numerous ancillary mining laws of the Federal Government and the governments of the Federal States. The overall control of the mining law within the Federal Government is the responsibility of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. The mining authorities of the Federal States implement the Act and also bear the responsibility for the authorisation and supervision of mining activities (depending on the natural resources in question). The Federal States have passed some of their own mining regulations in order to meet the specific requirements and characteristics of their own regions.

Responsible public authorities

Baden-Wuerttemberg

Bavaria

Berlin

Baden-Wuerttemberg

Bavaria

Berlin

Brandenburg

Bremen

Hamburg

Brandenburg

Bremen

Hamburg

Hesse

Mecklenburg-Western-Pomerania

Hesse

Mecklenburg-Western-Pomerania

Lower Saxony

North-Rhine Westphalia

Lower Saxony

North-Rhine Westphalia

Rhineland-Palatinate

Saarland

Saxony

Rhineland-Palatinate

Saarland

Saxony

Saxony-Anhalt

Schleswig-Holstein

Thuringia

Saxony-Anhalt

Schleswig-Holstein

Thuringia

Legal regulation

natural resources

Legal
breakdown

Unmined
Mineral Resources (under
Mining Law)

Proprietary mineral resources (under
mining law)

Landowner Mineral Resources
(Not Under Mining Law)

Technical
subdivision

Energy resources: coal, hydrocarbons (including oil and natural gas), geothermal energy

Industrial minerals: fluorspar, graphite, lithium, phosphorus, all easily water-soluble salts, sulfur, barite, strontium, zircon

metal ores: e.g. B. iron, copper, lead zinc ores etc.

Also: All mineral resources in the area of ​​the continental shelf and the coastal waters (including gravel, natural stones)

Industrial minerals: Bentonite and other clays rich in montmorillonite, feldspar, mica, kaolin, kieselguhr (diatomite), "pegmatite sand", quartz (sand and gravel), and quartzite (to the extent suitable for refractory products and ferrosilicon production), soapstone and talc, clay (if fireproof, acid-proof)

Stone and earth: basalt lava (except columnar basalt), roofing slate, trass

In addition: All underground mineral resources (i.e. also gypsum stone, natural stone, etc.)

Stone and earth (in open pit mining): anhydrite, gypsum stone, limestone and columnar basalt and other natural stones, gravel and sand, quartz and quartzite (unless suitable for the production of refractory products and ferrosilicon), and other raw materials not mentioned in this table

Also: peat

power of disposal over the
natural resources

These mineral resources are "free", ie they do not belong to the landowner. Their exploitation requires the mining license and the approval of the mining authority.

These mineral resources belong to the landowner. The landowner is entitled to use them.

Type of
legal regulation

Regulated according to the Federal Mining
Act § 3 Para. 3
§ 3 Para. 4

Regulated according to other areas of law, e.g. B. Building law (excavation law), water management law or state water law, federal immission control law, federal or state nature conservation law

Germany differentiates between three groups of natural resources in terms of their legal regulation:

Depending on the Federal State, the natural resource and the type of extraction involved, middle and lower-management levels of governmental bodies are responsible for the landowners’ natural resources category.

Legal division of natural resources in Germany

Own presentation. Partial source: State Geological Service of the Federal Republic of Germany, Securing of Raw Materials 2008

Coal Phase-Out Act

On August 14, 2020, the Act to Reduce and End the Use of Coal for Electricity Generation (Coal Phase- Out Act) came into force.1 The aim of this Act is to phase out power generation from coal-fired power plants in Germany in a socially acceptable manner to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The use of coal for power generation will be reduced as steadily as possi- ble and will end at the latest in 2038. At the same time, however, it must be guaranteed that the whole population can be provided with secure, affordable, efficient and climate-friendly electricity. The Coal Phase-Out Act provides for the reduction and termination of hard coal and lignite-based power generation, the continuous review of supply security, the cancellation CO2 certificates becoming available, an authorisation to compensate electricity consumers for an increase in electricity rates due to the phase-out of coal-based power generation, and an adjustment allowance for older employees in the coal sector (see State subsidies and tax concessions). The target for the expansion of renewable energies is raised to 65 percent in 2030 to make up for the decline in coal-fired power generation. In addition, the promotion of combined heat and power generation will be extended to encourage the adoption of flexible and more climate-friendly power supply options.2

As a first step, hard coal-based power generation will be gradually reduced between 2020 and 2027. To this end tenders for hard coal power plants participating in the electricity market will be carried out. In the tender, plant operators will have to specify a bid value at which they are willing to withdraw from burning coal in their plant. By participating in the tender, plant operators can receive appropriate financial compensation for the coal phase-out. Small-scale lignite plants up to 150 megawatts (MW) can also participate in the tenders. This procedure is designed to achieve the targets for 2022 (15 gigawatts (GW) of hard coal and lignite each), 2030 (8 GW of hard coal, 9 GW of lignite) and 2038 (zero GW). The possible maximum price per reduced MW decreases from €165,000/MW in 2020 to €89,000/MW in 2027

On November 25, 2020, the European Commission granted approval under state aid law concerning the statutory regulations for reducing and ending the generation of electricity from hard coal.3 To reduce and end lignite-based power generation in Germany, the Coal Phase-Out Act provides for a binding plan for decommissioning lignite-based power plants. Among other things, the Coal Phase-Out Act contains mandatory decommissioning deadlines and regulations on compensation payments for the operators of decommissioned lignite-based power plants. According to these provisions, RWE receives €2.6 billion, LEAG €1.75 billion.4 The legal regulations are complemented by a public law agreement 5 in which the operators of lignite-based power plants commit to the socially acceptable decommissioning of all power plants. The power plants will be closed down between 2020 and 2038 as reflected in Annex 2 of the Coal-fired Power Generation Termination Act (KVBG). Besides the agreement defines conditions for the use of the compensation payments made to cover the post-mining costs and to secure the mining sites, as well as a comprehensive waiver of legal remedies declared by the operators of the lignite-based power plants. In the Lausitz mining region, the compensation payments are made to special purpose vehicles that were set up as part of precautionary agreements between the lignite-based power plant operators and the states of Brandenburg and Saxony (see Dealing with human intervention in nature and landscape).
Both the regulations covering lignite mining and the coal-fired power plants and the public law agreement still have to be approved by the European Commission under state aid law.

Structural Strengthening of Coal Regions Act

The end of coal-fired power generation also means the end of coal extraction in Germany. Whereas hard coal production in Germany already ended on December 31, 2018 (see State subsidies and tax concessions) and the remaining hard coal plants are operated with imported coal, lignite-based power plants are operated exclusively with lignite from domestic production. This production will be reduced in accordance with the decommissioning plan set out in the Coal Phase-Out Act and will end by 2038. The Structural Strengthening of the Coal Regions Act6 came into force at the same time as the Coal Phase-out Act to mitigate the consequences of the phase-out of coal-fired power generation and to promote economic growth in the regions affected by the coal phase-out. Until 2038, the lignite regions will receive grants of up to €14 billion for particularly significant investments that support structural changes in the affected Federal States and municipalities. In addition, the German government will support the regions through further measures under its own responsibility with up to €26 billion until 2038, for example by expanding research and funding programmes, expanding transport infrastructure projects or relocating existing or creating new federal institutions in the affected regions.

Additional support of up to €1 billion will also be provided to hard coal-fired power plant sites in less developed regions where hard coal has been particularly important for economic development.

Wer ist zuständig? Gesetze und Zuständigkeiten staatlicher Stellen

Die Rohstoffgewinnung wird in Deutschland vor allem durch das Bundesberggesetz (BBergG) geregelt, welches 1982 die alten Berggesetze der Bundesländer sowie zahlreiche bergrechtliche Nebengesetze des Bundes und der Länder abgelöst hat. Die Federführung für das Bergrecht innerhalb der Bundesregierung liegt beim Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie. Die Bergbehörden der Bundesländer (siehe untenstehendes Schaubild) führen das Gesetz aus und sind je nach Bodenschatz für die Genehmigung und Aufsicht der bergbaulichen Tätigkeit zuständig. Um den Besonderheiten ihrer Region gerecht zu werden, haben die Bundesländer teils eigene Bergverordnungen verabschiedet.

Hinsichtlich ihrer rechtlichen Regelung werden in Deutschland drei Gruppen von Rohstoffen unterschieden:

 

Für die letztgenannte Gruppe der Grundeigentümerbodenschätze sind je nach Bundesland, Rohstoff und Art des Abbaus staatliche Stellen der mittleren und unteren Verwaltungsebene zuständig.

Zuständige staatliche Stellen

Baden-Württemberg

Bayern

Berlin

Baden-Württemberg

Bayern

Berlin

Brandenburg

Bremen

Hamburg

Brandenburg

Bremen

Hamburg

Hessen

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Hessen

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Niedersachsen

Nordrhein-Westfalen

Niedersachsen

Nordrhein-Westfalen

Rheinland-Pfalz

Saarland

Sachsen

Rheinland-Pfalz

Saarland

Sachsen

Sachsen-Anhalt

Schleswig-Holstein

Thüringen

Sachsen-Anhalt

Schleswig-Holstein

Thüringen

Rechtliche Untergliederung der Bodenschätze in Deutschland

Bodenschätze
Rechtliche
Untergliederung
Bergfreie
Bodenschätze (unter
Bergrecht)
Grundeigene Bodenschätze (unter
Bergrecht)
Grundeigentümer-Bodenschätze
(nicht unter Bergrecht)
Fachliche
Untergliederung
Energierohstoffe: Kohlen, Kohlenwasserstoffe (u. a. Erdöl und Erdgas), Erdwärme

Industrieminerale: Flussspat, Graphit, Lithium, Phosphor, alle leicht wasserlöslichen Salze, Schwefel, Schwerspat, Strontium, Zirkon

Metallerze: z. B. Eisen-,Kupfer-, Blei- Zinkerze usw.

Außerdem: Alle Bodenschätze im Bereich des Festlandssockels und der Küstengewässer (also auch Kies, Natursteine)
Industrieminerale: Bentonit und andere montmorillonitreiche Tone, Feldspat, Glimmer, Kaolin, Kieselgur (Diatomit), „Pegmatitsand“, Quarz(-sand und -kies), und Quarzit (soweit für Feuerfestprodukte und Ferrosilicium-Herstellung geeignet), Speckstein und Talk, Ton (soweit feuerfest, säurefest)

Steine und Erden: Basaltlava (außer Säulenbasalt), Dachschiefer, Trass

Außerdem: Alle untertägig gewonnenen grundeigenen Bodenschätze (also dann auch Gipsstein, Naturstein usw.)
Steine und Erden (im Tagebau): Anhydrit, Gipsstein, Kalkstein sowie Säulenbasalt und andere Natursteine, Kies und Sand, Quarz und Quarzit (soweit nicht für die Herstellung von Feuerfestprodukten und Ferrosilicium-geeignet), und andere in dieser Tabelle nicht genannten Rohstoffe

Außerdem: Torf
Verfügungsgewalt über die
Bodenschätze
Diese Bodenschätze sind „frei“, d. h. sie gehören nicht dem Grundeigentümer. Ihre Nutzbarmachung bedarf der Bergbauberechtigung sowie der Genehmigung durch die Bergbehörde.Diese Bodenschätze gehören dem Grundeigentümer. Ihre Nutzbarmachung steht dem Grundeigentümer zu.
Art der
rechtlichen Regelung
Geregelt nach Bundesberggesetz
§ 3 Abs. 3
§ 3 Abs. 4
Geregelt nach anderen Rechtsgebieten, z. B. Baurecht (Abgrabungsgesetz), Wasserhaushaltsgesetz bzw. Landeswassergesetz, Bundes-Immissionsschutzgesetz, bundes- bzw. Landes-Naturschutzgesetz

Kohleausstiegsgesetz

Am 14. August 2020 ist das Gesetz zur Reduzierung und Beendigung der Kohleverstromung in Kraft getreten (Kohleausstiegsgesetz)1. Das Kohleausstiegsgesetz verfolgt das Ziel, die Erzeugung elektrischer Energie durch den Einsatz von Kohle in Deutschland sozialverträglich, schrittweise und möglichst stetig zu reduzieren und bis spätestens 2038 zu beenden. Dadurch sollen Emissionen reduziert werden. Gleichzeitig soll aber auch eine sichere, preisgünstige, effiziente und klimaverträgliche Versorgung der Allgemeinheit mit Elektrizität weiterhin sichergestellt werden können. Das Kohleausstiegsgesetz enthält entsprechende Regelungen zur Reduzierung und Beendigung der Stein- und Braunkohleverstromung, zur kontinuierlichen Überprüfung der Versorgungssicherheit, zur Löschung frei werdender CO2-Zertifikate, eine Ermächtigung zur Kompensation für Stromverbraucher/innen im Falle eines kohleausstiegsbedingten Strompreisanstieges und ein Anpassungsgeld für ältere Beschäftigte im Kohlesektor (siehe Subventionen und steuerliche Begünstigungen). Zum Ausgleich für die sinkende Kohleverstromung wird das Ausbauziel für erneuerbare Energien auf 65 Prozent im Jahr 2030 angehoben. Zudem wird die Förderung der Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung verlängert, um die Umstellung auf eine flexible und klimafreundlichere Stromversorgung zu fördern2.

Die Reduzierung der Steinkohleverstromung erfolgt zwischen 2020 und 2027 zunächst schrittweise durch Ausschreibungen für am Strommarkt beteiligte Steinkohleanlagen. Die Anlagenbetreiber geben im Ausschreibungsverfahren einen Gebotswert an, zu dem sie bereit sind, auf die Verfeuerung von Kohle in ihrer Anlage zu verzichten. Durch die Teilnahme an dem wettbewerblichen Verfahren können Anlagenbetreiber einen angemessenen finanziellen Ausgleich für den Steinkohleausstieg erhalten. Auch BraunkohleKleinanlagen bis 150 Megawatt (MW) können an den Ausschreibungen teilnehmen. Dadurch sollen die festgelegten Zieldaten in 2022 (jeweils 15 Gigawatt (GW) Steinkohle und Braunkohle), 2030 (8 GW Steinkohle, 9 GW Braunkohle) und 2038 (Null GW) erreicht werden. Der mögliche Höchstpreis pro reduziertem MW sinkt dabei von 165.000 Euro/MW (2020) auf 89.000 Euro/MW (2027).

Die Europäische Kommission hat am 25.11.2020 die beihilferechtliche Genehmigung hinsichtlich der gesetzlichen Regelungen zur Reduzierung und Beendigung der Steinkohleverstromung erteilt3. Zur Verringerung und Beendigung der Braunkohleverstromung in Deutschland legt das Kohleausstiegsgesetz einen verbindlichen Plan zur Stilllegung von Braunkohleanlagen fest. Es enthält u. a. verpflichtende Stilllegungsdaten sowie Regelungen zur Entschädigung der Betreiber der stillgelegten Braunkohleanlagen. Danach erhält RWE 2,6 Mrd. Euro, LEAG erhält 1,75 Mrd. Euro4. Die gesetzlichen Regelungen werden von einem öffentlich-rechtlichen Vertrag5 flankiert, in dem sich die Braunkohlebetreiber zur sozialverträglichen Stilllegung aller Kraftwerke verpflichten. Die Stilllegungszeitpunkte der einzelnen Braunkohlekraftwerke erstrecken sich gemäß Anlage 2 des Kohleverstromungsbeendigungsgesetzes (KVBG) von 2020 bis 2038. Zudem enthält der Vertrag Regelungen zur Verwendung der Entschädigungszahlungen zur Abdeckung der Tagebaufolgekosten und zu deren Sicherung sowie einen umfassenden Rechtsbehelfsverzicht der Betreiber der Braunkohleanlagen. Im Lausitzer Revier werden die Entschädigungszahlungen an Zweckgesellschaften geleistet, die im Zuge von Vorsorgevereinbarungen zwischen dem Braunkohlebetreiber und den Ländern Brandenburg und Sachsen eingerichtet wurden (siehe Kapitel 7.1).

Sowohl die gesetzlichen Regelungen zur Braunkohle als auch der öffentlich-rechtliche Vertrag müssen noch beihilferechtlich von der Europäischen Kommission genehmigt werden.

Strukturstärkungsgesetz

Die Beendigung der Kohleverstromung bedeutet zugleich auch das Ende der Kohleförderung in Deutschland. Während die Steinkohleförderung in Deutschland bereits zum 31.12.2018 ausgelaufen ist (siehe Kapitel 6) und die noch bestehenden Steinkohleanlagen mit importierter Kohle betrieben werden, werden Braunkohleanlagen ausschließlich mit Braunkohle aus heimischer Förderung betrieben. Diese Förderung wird entsprechend dem im Kohleausstiegsgesetz festgelegten Stilllegungsplan reduziert und bis 2038 beendet. Um die Folgen des Ausstiegs aus der Kohleverstromung abzumildern und das wirtschaftliche Wachstum der vom Kohleausstieg betroffenen Regionen zu fördern, ist zeitgleich mit dem Kohleausstiegsgesetz auch das Strukturstärkungsgesetz Kohleregionen (Strukturstärkungsgesetz)6 in Kraft getreten. Zur Unterstützung des Strukturwandels erhalten die Braunkohleregionen bis zum Jahr 2038 Finanzhilfen von bis zu 14 Milliarden Euro für besonders bedeutsame Investitionen von Ländern und Gemeinden. Zudem unterstützt der Bund die Regionen durch weitere Maßnahmen in seiner eigenen Zuständigkeit bis 2038 mit bis zu 26 Milliarden Euro, etwa durch Erweiterung von Forschungs- und Förderprogrammen, den Ausbau von Verkehrsinfrastrukturprojekten oder die Ansiedelung von Bundeseinrichtungen.

Zusätzliche Unterstützung von bis zu 1 Milliarde Euro erhalten zudem Steinkohlekraftwerksstandorte, die strukturschwach sind und an denen die Steinkohle eine besonders große wirtschaftliche Bedeutung hat.