Deiti logo
German Commodities Sector /

Revenues generated

Companies which extract natural resources in Germany pay various fees, duties and taxes on their activities. A company that extracts free-to-mine natural resources in a Federal state pays specific minesite and extraction royalties to that state as per Federal Mining Act. However, minerals which are extracted on the basis of ‘old rights’ are excluded (read more on approval of mining projects); in this case the owners of the existing old mining rights or the former mining right owner(s) may be entitled to the payment of a so-called extraction royalties interest payment by the companies (e.g. in the case of old crude oil or old natural gas contracts). Regardless of the activity involved, all companies in the natural resources sector – and most other companies – are subject to trade and corporation tax.


Who is responsible for revenues collection?

Due to the federal structure of the Federal Republic of Germany, tax administration is split between the Federal Government and the states. Depending on the type of tax, it is levied by the financial authorities of the Federal Government, the states or the local authorities. One exception to this rule is minesite and extraction royalties, which are levied by the mining authorities of the states.


What payments are made by the extractive industry?

Corporation tax

A company (which extracts natural resources) with the legal form of a limited company (in particular a limited liability company or public limited company) which has its head office or management in Germany is subject to unlimited corporation tax. Limited companies which do not have their head offices and management in Germany are subject to corporation tax on the income generated in Germany. In Germany, corporation tax amounts to 15 % of the taxable income. The revenue is shared by the Federal Government and the states. Corporation tax is levied by the tax authorities of the Federal States. Read the law here (only available in German).

Minesite and extraction royalties

Companies and persons require a permit to prospect for ‘free-to-mine’ mineral resources (§ 7 BBergG (German Federal Mining Act)). Owners of this type of permit are required to pay an annual minesite royalty as per § 30 BBergG. Pursuant to § 30(3), first sentence, of the BBergG, this generally amounts to €5 per square kilometre of a minesite in the first year after the permit has been granted; the amount increases by €5 per year to a maximum of €25 per year, whereby the legislation of individual states may provide for differing royalty amounts and even exemptions under certain conditions (see § 32(2), BBergG and the table of the first D-EITI- report on page 36 to 45 ). The expenses incurred for prospecting are set off against the minesite royalties. Minesite royalties must be paid to the state in which the licenced minesite is located.

If natural resources are found, a permit is required for their extraction. However, extraction is only possible if the necessary operating plan permit and any other permits such as water rights permits have already been granted. If the extracted natural resources can be used for financial gain, the permit holder must pay extraction royalties for the extracted free-to-mine natural resources as per § 31 BBergG. The standard rate for extraction royalties is 10% of the market value of the natural resources in question (§ 31(2), sentence 1, BBergG). Here too, individual states may stipulate different regulations in their legislation for the calculation of minesite and extraction royalties under certain conditions (see § 32 BBergG and the table on page 36 to 45 ). Minesite and extraction royalties only apply to free-to-mine natural resources. While minesite royalties are appropriated into the respective state’s budget, the revenue from extraction royalties is used for inter-state financial equalisation. Minesite and extraction royalties are levied by the mining authorities of the Federal States.

Trade tax

Local authorities are responsible for the administration of trade tax, which is levied by the municipality in which the business is located. The purpose of the trade tax is to tax the objective earning potential of a commercial enterprise. However, unlike corporation tax, trade tax is not linked to economic performance. Additions and deductions correct the income of the commercial enterprise (§§ 8 and 9 GewStG [Trade Tax Act]). To calculate trade tax, the responsible tax office determines the taxable amount, which is 3.5% of the objective earning potential. The responsible municipality sets a uniform tax factor for all companies, which must be at least 200% (§ 16, (4), sentence 2, GewStG) and calculates the trade tax based on the taxable amount and the tax factor.

A company (which extracts natural resources) with the legal form of a partnership or limited company is subject to trade tax. If the operating facility is located in an area belonging to several municipalities or is operated in a number of municipalities, the assessment basis for trade tax is distributed among these individual municipalities (so-called ‘reallocation’). Salaries in the individual operating facilities are usually used a yardstick for reallocation, so each municipality concerned can collect its share of the trade tax paid by a natural resources extractive sector company.

An overview of the trade tax assessment rates (2016) of the municipalities in Germany is available via the Federal Office of Statistics. Commercial taxation is the main source of tax for municipalities, followed by land tax. The municipalities must pay a portion of their tax revenue to the Federal and state governments as trade tax apportionments. The remainder of the trade tax for the municipalities flows into their general budgets, thus helping to finance the local infrastructure and to provide education and social services among other things.

Lease payments

In Germany, the extraction of natural resources is governed by the BBergG, if the resources concerned are free-to-mine or privately-owned natural resources. As per § 3(3), BBergG, free-to-mine natural resources include metals, salts and fossil fuels such as hydrocarbons, lignite and hard coal. The ownership of a property does not extend to free-to-mine natural resources, so in this respect the property rights of the landowner are limited. Privately-owned natural resources, however, are the property of the landowner, who may carry out prospecting and extract them if found, without the need for any additional special legal title in addition to the operating permit and other required public-law permits. Its inclusion in the scope of validity of the BBergG aims to make their extraction subject to a uniform legal framework throughout Germany and (in particular) to uniformly regulate natural resource extraction in underground mining and ensure uniformity in the management of mine inspection authorities.

In addition to privately-owned natural resources, there are the so-called ‘landowner’s natural resources’. These are bulk raw materials, such as gravel and sands, which are predominantly used as building materials and are extracted through opencast mining. Like the privately-owned natural resources, these are also the property of the landowner, but they are neither subject to mining law nor to mining inspection.

A company does not have to own the land to extract privately-owned natural resources and landowners’ natural resources. If the owner of the land simply makes it available to the company on the basis of a legal private contract (e.g. through a lease agreement) – and this is often the case – that alone suffices. Such contractual arrangements may include fixed payments or payments that depend on the quantity extracted, or a combination of both variants.
On the Federal state side, official bodies including local authorities (e.g. counties or municipalities) and forestry offices may have the roles of landowners and landlords. The revenues from the leaseholds are therefore transferred to municipal budgets or state budgets, thus making it possible to finance statutory tasks (et alia).

Excise duties

Energy and electricity taxes are particularly relevant for companies in the natural resources sector, within the framework of excise duties. Like the other excise duties, energy and electricity taxes are explicitly excluded from the reporting obligation within the framework of the legal commercial (corporation) payment report, as per the EU Accounting Directive and its implementation in § 341r no. 3 b of the HGB (German Commercial Code).

The Energy and Electricity Tax Act is based on the harmonised provisions of the EU Energy Tax Directive (Council Directive 2003/96/EC of October 27, 2003, OJ EU No. L 283, p. 51). On April 1, 1999, the electricity tax was introduced in Germany within the framework of the law covering entry into the ecological tax reform, and the tax rates of the energy tax (at that time still called mineral oil tax) were gradually increased. This created incentives to reduce energy consumption and to develop resource-conserving products and production processes.

The Electricity Tax Act and the Electricity Tax Implementing Ordinance constitute the legal basis for levying electricity tax. The Federal Government is entitled to electricity tax revenues, which amounted to €6.6 billion in 2015. The revenue from the electricity tax and the higher taxation of fuels and heating materials obtained in connection with the ecological tax reform contribute to keeping social insurance contributions at a manageable level. Administration and collection tasks are carried out by customs administration.

The electricity tax is levied for consumption, but it is usually levied as an indirect tax on the supplier and passed on to consumers via the electricity price for practical reasons – and this means that companies in the extractive sector must also pay electricity tax. The statutory tax rate is €20.50 per megawatt hour. Reduced tax rates can be considered for various purposes, e.g. railway electricity, whereas the production industry can particularly benefit from tax relief (read more on subsidies and tax relieves).

The energy tax is an excise duty on energy products. It is governed by Federal legislation, and levied to tax the use of energy products as fuels or heating fuels within the German tax territory. The Energy Tax Act defines energy products as being (in particular), petrol, diesel fuel, light and heavy fuel oil, liquefied petroleum gas, natural gas, natural gas and coal as well as biodiesel, vegetable oil and energy products of a similar nature that are used as motor or heating fuels. The amount of the tax varies according to the energy product and its intended use and is regulated in the Energy Tax Act. Tax concessions are standardised in the Energy Tax Act for certain energy products and intended uses (read more on subsidies and tax relieves). Like the electricity tax, energy tax is levied by the customs administration, and the revenues flow to the Federal Government. In 2015, energy tax revenues amounted to approx. €40.3 billion. The revenue from energy and electricity taxes is the third-largest source of income for the Federal Government, after income tax and VAT.

The sheer financial volume of electricity and energy tax payments by companies in the natural resources extractive sector, and the financial scale of electricity and energy tax concessions (read more on subsidies and tax relieves) cannot be feasibly presented without a disproportionate amount of bureaucratic effort, since no statistics showing the electricity and energy tax payments for individual economic sectors exist yet. 3 .


3 In the MSG, there was no consensus on the extent to which energy and electricity tax payments were among the most important payment flows, therefore they are not included in the payment reconciliation.

Deiti logo
Deutscher Rohstoffsektor /

Einnahmen aus der rohstoffgewinnenden Industrie

Rohstoffgewinnende Unternehmen in Deutschland zahlen verschiedene Gebühren, Abgaben und Steuern auf ihre Tätigkeiten. Unternehmen, die bergfreie Rohstoffe gewinnen, zahlen eine spezifische Feldes- und Förderabgabe gemäß Bundesberggesetz an die Länder. Ausgenommen davon sind die Bodenschätze, die aufgrund sogenannter alter Rechte gewonnen werden (siehe auch „Genehmigung von Bergbauprojekten“). Hier kann jedoch den Eigentümern der aufrechterhaltenen alten Förderrechte oder den früheren Bergbauberechtigten das Recht auf Zahlung eines sog. Förderzinses (z. B. bei den sog. Erdölaltverträgen bzw. Erdgasverträgen) durch die Unternehmen zustehen. Unabhängig von der Tätigkeit unterliegen alle Unternehmen des Rohstoffsektors – wie die übrigen Unternehmen auch – der Gewerbe- und Körperschaftsteuer.


Zuständigkeit für die Einnahmen

Aufgrund der föderalen Struktur der Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist die Steuerverwaltung zwischen dem Bund und den Ländern aufgeteilt. Je nach Art der Steuer wird sie von den Finanzverwaltungen des Bundes, der Länder oder der Gemeinden erhoben. Eine Ausnahme bilden die Feldes- und Förderabgaben, für deren Erhebung die Bergämter der Bundesländer zuständig sind.


Zahlungen der rohstoffgewinnenden Industrie

Körperschaftsteuer

Rohstoffgewinnende Unternehmen in der Rechtsform der Kapitalgesellschaft (insb. GmbH und AG), die ihren Sitz oder ihre Geschäftsleitung in Deutschland haben, sind unbeschränkt körperschaftsteuerpflichtig. Kapitalgesellschaften ohne Sitz und Geschäftsleitung in Deutschland unterliegen mit ihren inländischen Einkünften der Körperschaftsteuer. In Deutschland beträgt die Körperschaftsteuer 15 % des zu versteuernden Einkommens. Sie steht dem Bund und den Ländern gemeinschaftlich zu. Erhoben wird die Körperschaftsteuer von den Finanzämtern der Bundesländer. Den Gesetzestext finden Sie hier.

Feldes- und Förderabgaben

Unternehmen und Personen brauchen zum Aufsuchen von sogenannten bergfreien Bodenschätzen eine Erlaubnis (§ 7 BBergG). Die Inhaber einer solchen Erlaubnis müssen nach § 30 BBergG jährlich eine Feldesabgabe entrichten. Diese beträgt nach § 30 Abs. 3 Satz 1 BBergG grundsätzlich im ersten Jahr nach der Erteilung pro Quadratkilometer eines Erlaubnisfelds fünf Euro und steigt jährlich um fünf auf bis zu maximal 25 Euro an, wobei die Länder durch Rechtsverordnung abweichende Beiträge oder Befreiungen unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen vorsehen können (siehe § 32 Abs. 2 BBergG und Übersichtsdarstellung als Auszug aus dem D-EITI-Bericht für 2016, S. 35-45 ). Die für die Aufsuchung gemachten Aufwendungen sind auf die Feldesabgabe anzurechnen. Die Feldesabgabe ist an das Land zu entrichten, in dem das Erlaubnisfeld liegt.

Werden Bodenschätze gefunden, ist eine Bewilligung für deren Abbau erforderlich. Eine Förderung ist allerdings erst möglich, wenn zusätzlich die erforderlichen Betriebsplangenehmigungen und eventuell weitere Genehmigungen, wie z. B. wasserrechtliche Genehmigungen vorliegen. Sofern die abgebauten Bodenschätze wirtschaftlich verwendet werden können, muss der Inhaber nach § 31 BBergG eine Förderabgabe auf die geförderten bergfreien Bodenschätze entrichten. Der Regelsatz der Förderabgabe liegt bei 10 % des Marktwertes der Bodenschätze (§ 31 Abs. 2 Satz 1 BBergG). Auch hiervon können die Länder in ihren jeweiligen Verordnungen für die Festsetzung der Feldes- und Förderabgaben unter Beachtung bestimmter Voraussetzungen abweichende Regelungen festlegen (siehe § 32 BBergG und Übersichtsdarstellung als Auszug aus dem D-EITI-Bericht für 2016, S. 35-45 ). Feldes- und Förderabgaben fallen nur für die bergfreien Bodenschätze an. Während die Feldesabgaben in den jeweiligen Landeshaushalten vereinnahmt werden, fließen die Einnahmen aus der rabgabedem Länderfinanzausgleich zu. Feldes- und Förderabgabe werden von den Bergämtern der Bundesländer erhoben.

Gewerbesteuer

Für die Gewerbesteuer sind die Gemeinden zuständig. Sie wird von der Gemeinde erhoben, in deren Gebiet sich die Betriebsstätte befindet. Besteuert wird die objektive Ertragskraft eines Gewerbebetriebs, die im Unterschied zu der Körperschaftsteuer nicht an die wirtschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit anknüpft. Hinzurechnungen und Kürzungen korrigieren den Ertrag des Gewerbebetriebs (§§ 8 und 9 GewStG). Für die Berechnung der Gewerbesteuer ermittelt das zuständige Finanzamt den Steuermessbetrag, der 3,5 % der objektiven Ertragskraft beträgt. Die zuständige Gemeinde setzt einheitlich für alle Unternehmen einen Hebesatz fest, der mindestens 200 % betragen muss (§ 16 Abs. 4 Satz 2 GewStG) und berechnet die Gewerbesteuer auf der Grundlage des Steuermessbetrags und des Hebesatzes.

Rohstoffgewinnende Unternehmen in der Rechtsform einer Personen- oder Kapitalgesellschaft sind gewerbesteuerpflichtig. Wenn sich die Betriebsstätte auf dem Gebiet mehrerer Gemeinden befindet oder in mehreren Gemeinden Betriebsstätten betrieben werden, wird die Bemessungsgrundlage der Gewerbesteuer auf die einzelnen Gemeinden aufgeteilt (sogenannte Zerlegung). Als Maßstab für die Zerlegung werden grundsätzlich die Arbeitslöhne in den einzelnen Betriebsstätten herangezogen. Dies bedeutet, dass jede betroffene Gemeinde ihren Anteil an der Gewerbesteuer eines Rohstoffunternehmens erheben kann.

Eine Übersicht zu den Hebesätzen der Gemeinden in Deutschland finden Sie hier. Für die Gemeinden stellt die Gewerbesteuer – neben der Grundsteuer – die wesentliche Steuerquelle dar. Einen Teil der Gewerbesteuereinnahmen müssen die Gemeinden als Gewerbesteuerumlage an Bund und Länder abführen. Die den Gemeinden verbleibende Gewerbesteuer fließt in deren allgemeinen Haushalt ein und dient damit u. a. der Finanzierung der lokalen Infrastruktur sowie Bildungs- und Sozialeinrichtungen.

Pachtzahlungen

Die Gewinnung von Bodenschätzen ist in Deutschland durch das BBergG geregelt, soweit es sich um sog. bergfreie oder grundeigene Bodenschätze handelt. Zu den bergfreien Bodenschätzen gehören nach § 3 Abs. 3 BBergG u. a. Metalle, Salze sowie die fossilen Energierohstoffe wie Kohlenwasserstoffe und Stein- und Braunkohle. Das Eigentum an einem Grundstück erstreckt sich nicht auf bergfreie Rohstoffe, insofern sind die Eigentumsrechte des Grundstückseigentümers beschränkt. Grundeigene Bodenschätze stehen dagegen im Eigentum des Grundeigentümers. Der Grundeigentümer darf sie aufsuchen und sich durch Abbau aneignen, ohne dass es hierfür neben der Betriebsplangenehmigung und weiterer erforderlicher öffentlich-rechtlicher Genehmigungen eines zusätzlichen besonderen Rechtstitels bedürfte. Ihre Einbeziehung in den Geltungsbereich des BBergG hat den Zweck, ihren Abbau unter einen bundesweit einheitlichen Rechtsrahmen zu stellen und insbesondere die Rohstoffgewinnung im untertägigen Bergbau einheitlich zu regeln und einer einheitlichen Bergaufsicht zu unterstellen.

Neben den grundeigenen Bodenschätzen gibt es die sogenannten Grundeigentümerbodenschätze. Hierbei handelt es sich um Massenrohstoffe wie z. B. Kiese und Sande, die überwiegend als Baustoffe verwendet und im Tagebau gewonnen werden. Auch diese stehen – wie die grundeigenen Bodenschätze – im Eigentum des Grundeigentümers, sie unterliegen allerdings nicht dem Bergrecht bzw. der Bergaufsicht.

Für den Abbau von grundeigenen Bodenschätzen und Grundeigentümerbodenschätzen ist es nicht erforderlich, dass der Unternehmer Eigentümer der Flächen ist. Es genügt– und das ist auch vielfach üblich –, dass der Eigentümer die Flächen dem Unternehmen auf Basis einer privatrechtlichen Vereinbarung (z. B. durch Pachtvertrag) zur Verfügung stellt. Die vertraglichen Regelungen können sowohl fixe Zahlungen als auch Zahlungen in Abhängigkeit von der abgebauten Menge oder eine Kombination beider Varianten vorsehen. Auf staatlicher Seite kommen als Eigentümer und Verpächter u. a. Gebietskörperschaften (z. B. Landkreise oder Gemeinden) oder auch Forstämter in Betracht. Die Einnahmen aus den Pachten gehen dementsprechend in kommunale Haushalte bzw. Landeshaushalte ein und stehen damit u. a. der Finanzierung hoheitlicher Aufgaben zur Verfügung.

Verbrauchsteuern

Im Rahmen der Verbrauchsteuern sind für Unternehmen des Rohstoffsektors besonders die Energie- und die Stromsteuer relevant. Energie- und Stromsteuer sind wie die anderen Verbrauchsteuern explizit aus der Berichtspflicht im Rahmen des handelsrechtlichen (Konzern-)Zahlungsberichts nach EU-Bilanzrichtlinie und deren Umsetzung in § 341r Nr. 3 b) HGB ausgenommen.

Das Energie- und das Stromsteuergesetz beruht auf den harmonisierten Vorgaben der EU-Energiesteuerrichtlinie (RL 2003/96/EG des Rates v. 27.10.2003, ABl. EU Nr. L 283, S. 51). Im Rahmen des Gesetzes zum Einstieg in die ökologische Steuerreform wurden die Stromsteuer am 01.04.1999 in Deutschland eingeführt und die Steuersätze der Energiesteuer (damals noch: Mineralölsteuer) stufenweise erhöht. Damit wurden Anreize geschaffen, den Energieverbrauch zu reduzieren und ressourcenschonende Produkte und Produktionsverfahren zu entwickeln.

Die Rechtsgrundlagen für die Erhebung der Stromsteuer sind das Stromsteuergesetz und die Stromsteuer-Durchführungsverordnung. Das Aufkommen der Stromsteuer steht dem Bund zu und lag im Jahr 2015 bei 6,6 Mrd. Euro. Die Einnahmen aus der Stromsteuer und die im Zusammenhang mit der ökologischen Steuerreform erzielten Mehreinnahmen durch die höhere Besteuerung von Kraft- und Heizstoffen tragen dazu bei, die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge auf einem tragbaren Niveau zu halten. Die Verwaltung und Erhebung erfolgen durch die Zollverwaltung.

Die Stromsteuer fällt beim Verbrauch an, wird aber aus Praktikabilitätsgründen in der Regel als indirekte Steuer beim Versorger erhoben und über den Strompreis auf die Verbraucher abgewälzt. Damit werden auch Unternehmen der Rohstoffindustrie grundsätzlich mit Stromsteuer belastet. Der Regelsteuersatz beträgt 20,50 Euro je Megawattstunde. Für verschiedene Zwecke wie z. B. Schienenbahnstrom kommen reduzierte Steuersätze in Betracht, während insbesondere das Produzierende Gewerbe von Steuerentlastungen Gebrauch machen kann (siehe „Subventionen und steuerliche Begünstigungen).

Die Energiesteuer ist eine bundesgesetzlich geregelte Verbrauchsteuer auf Energieerzeugnisse. Mit ihr wird die Verwendung von Energieerzeugnissen als Kraft- oder Heizstoffe innerhalb des deutschen Steuergebiets besteuert. Als Energieerzeugnisse definiert das Energiesteuergesetz insbesondere Benzin, Dieselkraftstoff, leichtes und schweres Heizöl, Flüssiggas, Erdgas und Kohle sowie bei einer Bestimmung als Kraft- oder Heizstoff auch Biodiesel und Pflanzenöl und Energieerzeugnisse ähnlicher Beschaffenheit. Die Höhe der Steuer ist je nach Energieerzeugnis und Verwendungszweck unterschiedlich und im Energiesteuergesetz geregelt. Für bestimmte Energieerzeugnisse und Verwendungszwecke sind Steuerbegünstigungen im Energiesteuergesetz normiert. (siehe „Subventionen und steuerliche Begünstigungen). Die Energiesteuer wird ebenso wie die Stromsteuer von der Zollverwaltung erhoben und die Einnahmen fließen dem Bund zu. 2015 lag das Energiesteueraufkommen bei ca. 40,3 Mrd. Euro. Das Aufkommen aus Energie- und Stromsteuer stellt nach Einkommensteuer und Umsatzsteuer die drittgrößte Einnahmequelle des Bundes dar.

Der finanzielle Umfang der Strom- und Energiesteuerzahlungen von Unternehmen des Rohstoffsektors ist derzeit, wie auch der finanzielle Umfang der Strom- und Energiesteuerbegünstigungen (siehe „Subventionen und steuerliche Begünstigungen), nicht ohne unverhältnismäßig hohen bürokratischen Aufwand darstellbar. Entsprechende Statistiken, die nach einzelnen Wirtschaftssektoren unterscheiden, werden bislang nicht geführt 3 .


3 In der MSG gab es keinen Konsens darüber, inwiefern die Energie- und Stromsteuerzahlungen zu den wesentlichen Zahlungsströmen gehören. Daher werden sie nicht in den Zahlungsabgleich aufgenommen.