Deiti logo
Explore Data /

Employment

Employees in the extractive sectors have a great variety of different occupations. Mine surveying engineers, for example, work on the exploration and surveying of resources, natural resources and geotechnical engineers carry out the setup and operation of the technical facilities and mining technologists perform mining operations in surface and underground minesites. The industry also offers qualified apprenticeships, such as industrial and process mechanics or electronics engineers.

As of the reporting date on June 6, 2016, a total of 71,074 were employed under the mandatory social security scheme in extractive sectors in Germany; more than half of all these employees worked in the ‘Quarried natural resources, other mining products’ sector (around 53 %) and more than a fifth worked in the Coal Mining sector (22 %). These figures include a total of 2,373 trainees working in the extractive sectors on the same reporting date. In relation to the total number of employees who pay social security contributions in Germany, this represented a percentage of around 0.23 % in the natural resources extractive sector.

Another important employment factor is the secondary effects of the extractive sector, through which additional jobs and apprenticeships are created. These mainly include the services of the suppliers and sub-contractors who are e.g. commissioned with the management of logistical and gastronomic tasks or with the construction and operation of minesites.


Employees of the ‘Mining and Quarrying’ sector – 2016

Persons employed under the mandatory social security scheme as of the reporting date on June 6, 2016 No. of apprentices among these employees
Mining and quarrying in total 71,074 2,373
including:
Coal mining 15,881 860
Extraction of crude oil and natural 3,045 105
Ore mining 860 *
Quarried natural resources, other mining products 37,982 1,068
Provision of Services for Mining 13,306 340

See detailed sources here: View Data . Own representation.

* For reasons of data protection and statistical confidentiality, numerical values of 1 or 2 and data from which such numerical values can be mathematically deduced are made anonymous.

Deiti logo
Daten /

Beschäftigung

Die Beschäftigten in der rohstoffgewinnenden Industrie gehen einer Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Berufen nach. So arbeiten beispielsweise Ingenieure im Marktscheidewesen an der Erkundung und Vermessung von Vorkommen, Rohstoffingenieure und Geotechniker am Aufbau und Betrieb der technischen Anlagen und Bergbautechnologen führen den Abbau im Tage- und Untertagebau durch. Die Branche bietet auch qualifizierte Ausbildungsberufe wie z. B. Industrie- und Verfahrensmechaniker oder Elektroniker.

Insgesamt waren in den Unternehmen der rohstoffgewinnenden Industrie zum Stichtag 30.06.2016 in Deutschland 71.074 Mitarbeiter/innen sozialversicherungspflichtig beschäftigt, wobei über die Hälfte aller Angestellten auf den Bereich „Gewinnung von Steinen und Erden, sonstiger Bergbau“ (Anteil: rund 53 %) und gut ein Fünftel auf den Kohlenbergbau (Anteil: etwa 22 %) entfiel. Diese Zahlen schließen für den gleichen Stichtag insgesamt 2.373 Auszubildende in den rohstoffgewinnenden Betrieben ein. Bezogen auf die insgesamt sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten in Deutschland entfiel damit ein Anteil von rund 0,23 % auf die rohstoffgewinnende Industrie.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Beschäftigungsfaktor sind die Sekundäreffekte des rohstoffgewinnenden Sektors, durch die zusätzliche Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze geschaffen werden. Hierzu gehören insbesondere die Dienstleistungen der Zulieferer und Subunternehmer, welche beispielweise mit der Übernahme von logistischen und gastronomischen Aufgaben oder dem Bau und Betrieb von Förderstätten beauftragt werden.


Beschäftigung 2016

Sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigte am Stichtag 30.06.2016 darunter Auszubildende
Bergbau und Gewinnung von Steinen und Erden insgesamt 71.074 2.373
darunter:
Kohlenbergbau 15.881 860
Gewinnung von Erdöl und Erdgas 3.045 105
Erzbergbau 860 *
Gewinnung von Steinen und Erden, sonstiger Bergbau 37.982 1.068
Erbringung von Dienstleistungen für den Bergbau und für die Gewinnung von Steinen und Erden 13.306 340

Detaillierte Quellenangaben siehe Daten Einsehen Eigene Darstellung.

* Aus Datenschutzgründen und Gründen der statistischen Geheimhaltung werden Zahlenwerte von 1 oder 2 und Daten, aus denen rechnerisch auf einen solchen Zahlenwert geschlossen werden kann, anonymisiert.